ITIL Certification

ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) Certification Training with Michigan Technology Services

Michigan Technology Services offers instructor-led ITIL training. The training can take place at our location in Farmington Hills, 20 miles outside of Detroit, onsite at your office anywhere throughout the United States, or if you prefer, instructor led live online.

ITIL® (Information Technology Infrastructure Library®) certification will become more and more important for Detroit, Michigan area IT Service Providers, IT Directors and IT Managers.

Senior executives at the “Big Three” auto manufacturers are making a serious commitment to ITIL® certification as they recognize that their organizations have become increasingly dependent on IT.

We believe that suppliers wishing to do business with them will be encouraged to bring their staff up to speed on ITIL®.

So what is ITIL®? ITIL® is the only consistent and comprehensive documentation of best practice for IT Service Management.

There are three levels of ITIL® certification...


  • Foundation Certificate

    This is designed to provide a foundation level of knowledge in IT Service Management and is aimed at all personnel who wish to become familiar with the best practices for IT Service Management. The Foundation Certificate in particular enables people to understand the terminology used within ITIL®.

    The current ITIL Foundation course is called ITIL V. 4 Edition.

  • Intermediate Certificate

    The Intermediate Certificate is aimed at those who are responsible within their organization for designing specific processes within the IT Service Management discipline, and performing the activities that belong to those processes. The Intermediate Certificate focuses on the depth of understanding and application of those subjects, treating each subject as a specialty.

    ITIL® is comprised of five core publications: Service Strategy, Service Design, Service Transition, Service Operations and Continual Service Improvement, promoting alignment with the business as well as improving operational efficiency. The official ITIL® qualification scheme describes two streams, the Service Lifecycle Stream and the Service Capability stream.

    The Service Lifecycle stream focuses on ITIL® practices within the Service Lifecycle context. The prime focus is the Lifecycle itself as well as the process and practice elements used within it.

    • ITIL-SO: ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle: Service Operation
    • ITIL-SS: ITIL® Intermediate Service Lifecycle: Service Strategy
    • ITIL-ST: Intermediate Lifecycle: Service Transition
    • ITIL-SD: ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle Service Design
    • ITIL-CSI: ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle: Continual Service Improvement (CSI)
    • ITIL-MALC: Managing Across the Lifecycle (MALC)

    The Service Capability stream is for those who wish to obtain an in depth understanding of ITIL® processes and roles. Attention to the Service Lifecycle is illustrated as part of the curriculum but the primary focus is the on the process activities, execution and use throughout the Service Lifecycle.

    • ITIL-OSA: ITIL® Intermediate Capability Operational Support & Analysis
    • ITIL-RCV: ITIL® Intermediate Capability Release, Control and Validation
    • ITIL-SOA: Intermediate Capability: Service Offerings and Agreements
    • ITIL-PPO: Intermediate Capability: Planning, Protection and Optimization
  • Expert Certificate

    The Expert Certificate is aimed at those who need to demonstrate a capability for managing ITIL-based solutions across the breadth of the Service Management subjects.

    ITIL® accreditation demonstrates that an individual has met the standards in Service Management as set by an examination certification board comprising representatives from OGC, itSMF and the Examination Institutes.

    Michigan Technology Services offers a full ITIL® curriculum, as well as TOGAF Certification classes and COBIT Foundation Training.

    For information on Detroit, Michigan area ITIL® training please contact us at 248-489-0408

    ITIL® and IT Infrastructure Library® are a registered trademarks of Axelos Limited and all related courses are delivered in partnership with Deep Creek Center, a CSME accredited ITIL training organization.

Student Successes

Programs and Certifications